Woody L. Hunt Legislative Leadership Award


The Woody L. Hunt Legislative Leadership Award was established in 2020 to recognize lawmakers who, through their leadership and vision, have made a significant contribution to Texas public policy. Every two years, an award is presented to a state Senator and a state Representative who played a critical role in advancing legislation that helps build a more globally competitive Texas.


The award’s namesake Woody L. Hunt is Senior Chairman of the Board of Directors of Hunt Companies, Inc. Mr. Hunt has dedicated much of his life to developing and supporting sound public policy for the benefit of all Texans. Mr. Hunt serves on numerous public policy boards, commissions, and foundations including the Texas Higher Education Foundation; Complete College America; Texas Aspires; and the Texas Business Leadership Council. Past service includes, The University of Texas System Board of Regents; the Texas Higher Education Strategic Planning Committee; the Texas Select Commission on Higher Education and Global Competitiveness; the Commission for College Ready Texas; and the Texas Tax Reform Commission.


In 2022 we were pleased to honor Senator Brandon Creighton and Representative Tan Parker for their leadership in developing and passing Senate Bill 1102 during the 87th Legislature, establishing the Texas Reskilling and Upskilling through Education (TRUE) initiative.


In the award’s inaugural year, we were pleased to honor Senator Larry Taylor and Representative Dan Huberty for their leadership in developing, managing, and passing House Bill 3 during the 86th Legislature.